Food Find: Ella’s Kitchen Baby Food. It’s Not Just for Babies!

I love finding new foods whether it be an interesting vegetable at the farmer’s market or a wholesome product on store shelves. Something I’ve been obsessing over for the past month or so is Ella’s Kitchen fruit and vegetable puree pouches. Yes, I am talking about baby food, but, trust me, adults love this stuff too. In fact, the girl at the checkout counter told me so. She’s a fan herself and said that many other customers are too. So, I’m not the only adult out there gobbling this stuff up.

Why do I love this product so much? Let me count the ways…

1. Delicious.

I can honestly say I’ve liked every flavor I’ve tried. Now, the vegetable ones aren’t quite as delectable as the fruits, but what did you expect?

2. Nutritious.

With flavors like peaches + bananas and sweet potatoes, pumpkin, apples, + blueberries you can get a variety of nutrient packed fruits and vegetables.

3. 100% Organic

Everything in the puree pouches is organic and the only preservative is a little lemon juice. Processed foods don’t get any more wholesome than that.

4. Portable.

With a resealable twisty cap, you don’t have to worry about finishing the whole thing at once or discovering a leak later on.

Now, you know I’m always a proponent of making your food from scratch, but I think these can be a great option when you’re on the go. Also, if you’re ever in a situation (family get together, vacation, etc.) where the food offerings aren’t reflective of what you usually eat, these could be a great way to supplement your diet.

To find out more about Ella’s Kitchen, check them out their website at http://www.ellaskitchen.com/.

What are your feelings about adults eating baby food?

4 thoughts on “Food Find: Ella’s Kitchen Baby Food. It’s Not Just for Babies!

  1. how would the nutrition label be modified to estimate the daily values for an adult? For instance if it says there’s a certain percentage iron, is that up to a certain age?

    • At the bottom of the label there will be a note for what diet the %DV applies to. On adult foods, it’s a 2,000 calorie diet. I’m not sure what is listed on baby foods, and I don’t have any on hand to check at the moment. Overall though, I wouldn’t worry so much about the %DV. It’s quite generalized and every person is different depending on age, weight, gender, medical conditions, and a host of other factors.

  2. Have you tried Ella’s Kitchen products with rice and such? If so, are those any good? Curious because I’m always on the go and feel like those would be filling enough to tide me over most of my morning.

    • I haven’t tried them, so I don’t know how they are taste wise. They might be food in a pinch, but I’d say try to stick with any product like this as a rarity rather than the norm. Making a big batch of crock-pot oatmeal might be a good option for you as it requires not much effort and gives you a lot of food. I have a recipe (that you can alter depending on the season/personal preference) here .

Leave a Reply

